Homemade Tea-smoked Bacon Part 3

Well it has been a while since I lasted posted about my bacon making endeavours.  There is now a final product and it is pretty damn good.  I am really surprised at how easy it was to do, once I had sorted out the process.   I don’t have a smoker so what appealed to me about the recipe used, is that it makes it easy for you to make a smoker out of your wok.   No excuses then!

I made up the smoking mix of rice, sugar, tea, cinnamon, star anise and Sichuan pepper and packaged it nice and neatly in some aluminium foil.  This was placed in the bottom of the wok with a rack over that.  The cured bacon was then placed on the rack.

At this point I realised I didn’t have a lid to fit my wok, so I tightly wrapped the top of the wok in aluminium foil, making sure there were no gaps for the smoke to escape from.  I then turned the gas to med-high for 5 minutes followed by 1 hour on medium-low.  After that time the bacon was left, covered, in the wok for another hour.  Once cooled in the fridge the bacon was ready for the taste test.

The bacon sliced easily and hit the pan with a sizzle.  It didn’t take long for the bacon to crisp up nicely; what a smell and so much fat!  A piece of thick white toast, a little salt and vinegar and voila, my first homemade tea-smoked bacon sandwich.  It was delicious, however I am trying to make it last longer than the weekend.  I already have the next piece of pork curing in the fridge, this time a piece of loin, so am going to try some back bacon next.  Will let you know how I get on.

4 thoughts on “Homemade Tea-smoked Bacon Part 3

  1. Hi, thanks for visiting my blog. Was really happy to have come across your recipe, have and a few bacon sandwiches now and it really is delicious. Never buying supermarket bacon again!

  2. I can’t believe you actually made bacon – that’s awesome! I’d love to try it….,your bacon that is! Well done…..

    • I didn’t think it would actually turn out as good as it has. I smoked some loin yesterday to make back/middle style bacon, so it has more meat than the streaky style bacon produced by the pork belly. I gave it a bit more smoke as well. Looking forward to trying it this weekend! Yum yum

Leave a Reply

